The castle and chateau of Jindřichův Hradec offers three sightseeing routes and a visit to the viewpoint from the Black Tower. The tour on each route lasts approximately 50 minutes.
Route A – Adam’s Building, open all season (April – October);
This tour passes the representation rooms of the first floor of the Renaissance wing, which was built by Adam II of Hradec in the 2nd half of the 16th century. The Renaissance, or “green rooms” with wall decorations and painted cassette ceilings are furnished with equipment from that era and the portraits of the former owners. The Rožmberk Corridor and other rooms have, apart from the fictitious portrait of the White Lady, other paintings, many of which come from the famous Černín collection. One of the outstanding ones is a large-sized canvass by the leading Czech Baroque painter Petr Brandl, “Joseph of Egypt Lets His Brothers Recognize Him”. The first floor of the arcades offers the best view of the whole third courtyard.
In April, May, September and October the route finishes in the musical pavilion Roundel.
Route B – The Mediaeval Castle, open from May to September;
It introduces the visitors to the earliest period of the existence of the castle in Jindřichův Hradec, the interiors of the Gothic palace. It is started in the Chapel oft the Holy Spirit, originally Gothic, later remodelled in the Baroque style. An elegant ribbed vault covers the Royal Hall with the gallery of fictitious portraits of Czech sovereigns on its walls. A unique place is the room with wall paintings of the Legend of St. George from 1338 as well as the board painting of the Madonna of Jindřichův Hradec from around 1460. The route finishes in the Black Kitchen, where the famous sweet porridge was made for the poor on Maundy Thursday.
Route C – Apartments of the 18th and 19th centuries, open from June to August;
It starts in the 3rd courtyard by making visitors acquainted with the exteriors of the earliest castle architecture, and continues on the ground floor of Adam’s Building, which is furnished with Classicist furniture and other equipment from the nearby hunting lodge of Jemčina, where the Černíns moved after the disastrous fire of Jindřichův Hradec in 1773. Visitors can see a collection of portraits of the famous hound pack of František Josef Černín on display, one of the founders of coursing chases in Bohemia. The route continues through the private rooms of the Černíns, the game salon with billiards and ends in the musical pavilion Roundel, which attracts attention with its lavish gilded relief decoration from the 16th century.
The Black Tower (dungeon), in May and September open on Saturdays and Sundays, from June to August daily. The tower is closed in bad weather (wind, rain).
The tower is one of the oldest buildings of the complex; it comes from the time after 1220. It is 32 metres tall and its walls are up to 3.5 metres thick. During the ascent visitors may have a look into the interior of the oldest castle kitchen, which was discovered during recent repairs.
There are 149 stairs leading to the gallery of the tower, which offers a view of the whole town and its surroundings.
The tower is open without a guide.